OWI Causing Injury
An OWI all alone is quite serious. Any individual arrested for this will face jail time, a criminal record, revocation of license, a large number of dollars of fines, and increment in insurance rates. If your OWI case causes injury or has another extra charge, then the penalties will be severe. In Wisconsin, an OWI causing Injury is regarded as a criminal charge.
What is an OWI causing Injury?
An OWI causing Injury is largely self-explanatory. In the event that you operate a vehicle while drunk and cause bodily harm to another person, you can be accused of an OWI causing Injury. Under Wisconsin law, “bodily harm” means physical ache or injury, ailment, or any harm of physical condition. This is an expansive definition; even wounds and little cuts could be incorporated under bodily harm if the jury decides that way.
The Penalties for OWI causing Injury
- 1st Offense OWI causing Injury
Normally, a first offense OWI in Wisconsin comes with up to $300 in fines and no jail time. On the other hand, an OWI causing Injury comes with $2,000 in fines and up to a year in prison. It’s important to note that in Wisconsin, an OWI that leads to bodily harm comes with a compulsory jail time. Every person in this situation always gets at least 30 days in jail for an OWI causing Injury if they are arrested. Most judges or prosecutors here can give more years in jail.
- 2nd Offense OWI causing Injury
In Wisconsin, a 2nd OWI that doesn’t lead to bodily harm is a misdemeanor liable to be punished by up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Any individual facing a second offense OWI causing Injury, will definitely find themselves facing a Class H felony charge that might result in a $10,000 fine and 6 years of the person’s life spent in jail.
In an OWI causing Injury case, if the harmed person was under 16, punishments are not limited to jail time and fines. Your license will be revoked for as long as 2 years, you will be compelled to install a mortifying and inconvenient Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle, wait 60 days before having the capacity to get an occupational license, and, if the OWI occurred when you were operating a commercial vehicle, you may have a lifetime CDL disqualification.
If the OWI causing Injury case caused a very serious bodily harm to someone else, conviction can carry the same penalty: a Class F felony. You could go to jail for 12 years and need to pay a $25,000 fine. Wisconsin law characterizes a very serious bodily harm as injury that develops a significant risk of death, or causes genuine perpetual distortion, or causes a lasting or extended loss or hindrance of the function of any bodily part or organ.
OWI causing Injury is a very complicated crime to deal with. With the jury’s understanding of the facts of your case, you can lose nothing; lose a month of your life, or lose your future prospects for employment and other benefits. That’s why it’s so important to have legal representatives that understand what is at stake. At Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C., their experienced defense lawyers have handled so many cases for people accused of OWI causing Injury. They have worked hard to build a solid reputation for reliability, service, and success.
Don’t trust your life to some inexperienced lawyer. Call the lawyers at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today for your free consultation, and let them fight for you to get your charges reduced or dropped.