An Underage DUI is a Worse Than a Hangover. Spring is finally here and with that everyone is coming out of the woodwork to get some fresh air and have some fun. Too often, this time of year leads to underage drinking and, unfortunately, DUI charges in Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County, Rice Lake or Barron County, Wisconsin
The uptick in OWI / DUI criminal arrests for drivers under the legal drinking age puts the individual and family at great risk for some major legal issues that are far worse than for an adult which is why hiring a criminal defense attorney who specializes in DUI charges is a must.
If you or a younger family member is facing juvenile OWI, there are a lot of things to be aware of starting with the fact that there is no such thing as a strike one when it comes to a first offense.
Younger drivers are always perceived as an at-risk group with regards to safe driving. If found with just one drink, the juvenile drunk driver can face penalties that are way stricter than those for adults. The OWI laws in Wisconsin for minors incorporate a zero tolerance policy which means that any BAC reading above 0.00% is counted as a juvenile OWI crime and goes beyond alcohol consumption.
Under 21 drivers can be charged for the equivalent Driving Under the Influence crimes if they are discovered driving with any unlawful, impairing substance such as over the counter medicine or cannabis in their body system. As a reference point, drivers who are 21 and over with a .08 BAC or below do not receive a DUI charge consequently.
If convicted of OWI in Wisconsin, car insurance rates will skyrocket for juveniles especially if the individual has more than one offense. A juvenile OWI conviction can lead to massive, long-term financial trouble like an additional premium cost each month or, even worse, no insurance at all since the company may drop policies without warning or a chance to renew.
A first time charge for a minor driving under the influence of alcohol is often met with a fine of a few hundred dollars plus a suspended driver’s license for up to 9 months. This penalty is the same as for an adult, however, more serious penalties will arise if additional convictions occur.
If another OWI offense happens within 10 years of the first conviction, fines begin at $300 and can go up to $1000, one year in prison, plus a suspended driver’s license for a minimum of one year. This is just the beginning of the negative impacts a conviction will have on your finances, job and personal time.
A DEFENSE ATTORNEY WHO SPECIALIZES IN JUVENILE DUI IS IMPERATIVE
Charges of driving impaired or OWI/DUI (operating while intoxicated or driving under the influence) are super complicated which is why it’s so urgent that you hire a seasoned defense attorney who specializes in juvenile OWI and DUI cases.
There are several detailed processes involved in bodily specimen tests that can lead to a dismissal. Many times a OWI defense lawyer will discover incorrect readings when it comes to proof of alcohol, marijuana or even prescription drugs that come with warnings about operating heavy machinery while taking.
A skilled juvenile criminal defense lawyer with expertise in this area can scrutinize how the blood was examined and whether the equipment used to evaluate the results was functioning correctly. Other defenses such as constitutional violations and defenses relating to a juvenile OWI charge, can be considered by a DUI attorney, which an unpracticed individual will not be able to flag. All the more reason that these complicated DWI cases require someone who has the skill and knowledge in defending them.
If you or someone you know has been charged with juvenile DUI in Wisconsin, it’s in your best interest to hire the best juvenile DUI attorney in Wisconsin to defend your case. Contact the attorneys at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today for a free consultation.