As spring approaches, more people are going to be venturing out in search of more fun. Quite often, this season leads to teen-drinking and, unfortunately, OWI charges in Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County, Rice Lake or Barron County, Wisconsin
The rise in criminal arrests for drivers under the legal drinking age puts not only the driver but the family at great risk for some serious legal troubles. This is why hiring a criminal defense attorney who specializes in OWI charges is necessary.
If you or a younger family member is facing juvenile DWI, there are many items to be aware of. For example first strikes are non-applicable when it comes to an OWI first offense
Younger drivers are always categorized as at-risk in regard to safe driving. I found with just one drink, the young driver can face consequences that are much stricter than those for adults. DUI laws in Wisconsin for minors Implement a zero-tolerance policy. Meaning that any BAC reading above 0.00% is counted as a juvenile DUI crime
Drivers under 21 can be charged for the same DUI charges as an adult if they are discovered driving with ANY unlawful, impairing substance such as over-the-counter medicine, cannabis, or alcohol. As a reference point, drivers who are 21 and over with a .08 BAC or below do not receive a DUI charge consequently.
If charged with a DUI in Wisconsin as a minor, your car insurance rates will significantly increase especially if you have more than one offense. A juvenile OWI conviction can lead to massive, long-term financial trouble like additional premium costs or, even worse, being dropped from your insurance. Which they, the company, may do. They have the power without warning or a chance to renew, cancel your policy.
A first-time charge for a minor driving under the influence of alcohol is often met with a fine of a few hundred dollars plus a suspended driver’s license for up to 9 months. This penalty is the same as for an adult, however, more serious penalties will arise if additional convictions occur.
If another OWI offense happens within 10 years of the first conviction, fines begin at $300 and can go up to $1000, one year in prison, plus a suspended driver’s license for a minimum of one year. This is just the beginning of the negative impacts a conviction will have on your finances, job, and personal time.
A DEFENSE ATTORNEY WHO SPECIALIZES IN JUVENILE DUI IS MANDATORY
Charges for driving intoxicated are super complicated which is why it’s so necessary that you hire an experienced defense lawyer who specializes in juvenile OWI and DUI cases.
There are multiple steps involved in bodily specimen tests that can lead to a dismissal. Many times a DUI defense lawyer will discover inaccurate readings when it comes to proof of alcohol, marijuana, or even prescription drugs that come with warnings about operating heavy machinery after ingesting.
An experienced juvenile criminal defense attorney with expertise in this area can scrutinize how the blood was examined and whether the equipment used to evaluate the results was functioning correctly. Other defenses such as constitutional violations and defenses relating to a juvenile OWI charge, can be considered by a DUI attorney, which an inexperienced lawyer will not be able to identify. All the more reason that these complex OWI cases require an attorney who has the skill and knowledge in defending them.
If you or someone you know has been charged with juvenile DUI in Wisconsin, it’s in your best interest to hire the best juvenile DUI attorney in Wisconsin to defend your case. Contact the attorneys at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today for a free consultation.