UNDERAGE DUI LAWS STRICTER THAN FOR ADULTS. It’s that time of year again. College kids are returning home for the holiday, meeting up with old high school friends. With such celebrations underway, it’s not unlikely that one could make a bad decision and drive while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or medication. Many who aren’t of legal drinking age yet. Often what teens may not know is that a juvenile OWI can be more severe than one for an adult.
With so much at stake, it’s crucial that you contact a seasoned Wisconsin juvenile OWI lawyer if you or a younger family member is facing juvenile OWI charges in Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County, Rice Lake or Barron County, WI.
WHAT TO KNOW ABOUT TEEN DUI CRIMES IN WISCONSIN
Newer drivers are already an at-risk group with regards to safe driving in general. Throw in even just one drink and the penalties for juvenile drunk driving are stricter than those for grown-ups. The DWI law in Wisconsin for minors incorporates a zero tolerance policy for juvenile drunk drivers.
That means that any BAC reading above 0.00% is counted as a juvenile OWI crime and does not just stop at alcohol consumption. Under 21 drivers can be charged for the equivalent OWI crimes if they’re caught driving with any unlawful, impairing substance in their body system. As a reference point, individuals who are 21 and over with a .08 BAC or underneath do not consequently receive an OWI charge.
THERE’S NO SUCH THING AS A WRIST SLAP FOR A FIRST OFFENSE
A first time juvenile OWI offense for driving under the influence of alcohol usually comes with a fine of a few hundred dollars and a suspended driver’s license for 6-9 months. While this penalty is the same as for an adult, more serious penalties emerge if numerous convictions happen.
If a second OWI conviction happens within 10 years of the primary conviction, fines begin at $300 and can get up to $1000, including one year in prison, and a suspended driver’s license for one or more years.
While this can have instant financial and social consequences, that’s just the beginning. Car insurance or protection rates can soar for juveniles convicted of OWI in Wisconsin – particularly for recurrent guilty parties.
A juvenile DUI conviction can result in critical and long-term financial harm such as additional premium costs every month or, even worse, no insurance since the company may drop policies without warning or a chance to renew.
It’s important to note that drunk driving charges or OWI/DUI (operating while intoxicated or driving under the influence) charges are very complex. There are so many detailed processes that are involved in the testing of bodily specimens and that can be ripe with mistakes or wrong readings when it comes to proof of alcohol, marijuana or even prescription drugs that come with warnings about operating heavy machinery while taking.
So, one of the vital things a seasoned juvenile criminal defense attorney with expertise in this area can do is to scrutinize the process of how the blood was examined, whether the equipment used is functioning correctly or whether their evidence is the truth.
Additionally, there can be a number of other defenses like constitutional violations and defenses relating to a juvenile OWI charge, which a common individual can’t be able to understand. These are complicated cases, which need someone who has the skill and knowledge in defending them.
If you or someone you know has been charged with juvenile OWI in Wisconsin, it’s crucial to hire the best juvenile OWI attorney in Wisconsin to defend your case. Contact the attorneys at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today for a free consultation.