Receiving a DUI is a serious charge but did you know that when a driver is under the legal drinking age, it’s even more so? People often assume a first offense will just equal a slap on the wrist. Unfortunately, it’s quite the opposite. There is a zero tolerance policy incorporated in Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County, Rice Lake, or Barron County, Wisconsin for juvenile drivers arrested for a DUI..
If an underaged individual is caught driving a vehicle in Wisconsin with any unlawful, impairing substances in their body system such as alcohol or marijuana, they will face much more than a DUI. Other critical consequences and long-haul financial harm result in astronomical insurance or protection rates. Even worse, insurance agencies will most likely drop their policy without chances to renew.
Normally, the BAC (blood alcohol limit), is amongst the most critical factors in an adult DUI charge. Blowing a .08 BAC or underneath does not prompt an OWI charge for individuals 21 and over in Wisconsin, however any BAC reading above 0.00% equals a juvenile OWI crime and it is imperative to note that the law does not stop at alcohol consumption. It also includes weed and even OTC (over-the-counter) meds.
For all of these reasons, speak immediately with the best OWI criminal defense lawyer near you for guidance.
Juvenile drunk driving or drugged driving are more severe than for adults since newer drivers who are under 21 are already perceived as an at-risk group. A first-time juvenile OWI offense usually results in a fine of $300, plus a driving license suspension for 6-9 months. More extreme penalties can occur if additional convictions take place afterwards. Those penalties are the same as for adults.
For example, fines can go as high as $1000, plus a year in prison and a driving license suspension of 12 months or more if that a second juvenile DUI conviction takes place within ten years of the prior conviction.
Protect Your Assets and Your Record
Please note that drunk driving or drugged driving charges or OWI / DUI (operating while intoxicated / driving under the influence) charges are incredibly complex and involve testing the driver’s breath and/or blood. Mistakes or false readings are very possible through the multi-detailed procedures used to test those bodily specimens and an experienced lawyer with a deep understanding of OWI charges can scrutinize how the blood was examined including questioning if the equipment used was functioning correctly or whether the evidence is the truth is one of the vital things.
If you or a younger family member is facing juvenile OWI charges in Wisconsin, please schedule a call with an experienced Wisconsin juvenile OWI lawyer immediately. The average person won’t know about the many other defenses, such as constitutional violations and reasons relating to a juvenile OWI charge on their own. A skilled DUI attorney can share their knowledge of these specific laws to defend the driver.
If you or someone you know has been charged with juvenile OWI in Wisconsin, it’s crucial that you hire the best juvenile OWI attorney in Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County, Rice Lake, or Barron County, Wisconsin to defend your case. Contact the attorneys at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today.