Many of the OWI / DUI criminal arrests in Wisconsin are young drivers under the legal drinking age. These charges are very serious as you can imagine but what most people do not realize is that DUI driving under the influence punishments are much more damaging when the driver is under 21. If you or a younger family member face juvenile DUI charges in Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County, Rice Lake or Barron County, Wisconsin, you should speak with an expert juvenile OWI lawyer immediately.
A FIRST OFFENSE DOES NOT MEAN A WRIST SLAP
In general, newer drivers are already considered an at-risk group. The OWI laws in Wisconsin for minors includes a zero tolerance policy for juvenile drunk drivers or drugged drivers. That means that even just one drink or one puff can equal stricter penalties for young drunk drivers or drugged drivers.
Please note that under 21 drivers can be charged for the equivalent DUI crimes if they’re accused of driving with any unlawful, impairing substance such as weed or prescription drugs in their body system. As a reference point, individuals who are 21 and over with a .08 BAC or below do not receive an OWI charge consequently. Any BAC reading above 0.00% is counted as a juvenile OWI crime.
When juveniles are convicted of DUI in Wisconsin – means huge, long-term financial damage like paying an additional premium each month or, even worse, no insurance since the company may drop your policy without warning. Especially for individuals with more than one juvenile DUI conviction.
WORKING WITH A DEFENSE ATTORNEY WHO SPECIALIZES IN JUVENILE DUI IS YOUR ONLY HOPE
Drunk driving charges or OWI/DUI (operating while intoxicated or driving under the influence) charges are very complex so it is crucial that you hire a skilled defense attorney who has a comprehensive understanding of juvenile OWI and DUI cases.
A DUI defense attorney may find mistakes like incorrect readings when it comes to proof of alcohol, marijuana or even prescription drugs that come with warnings about operating heavy machinery while taking. A seasoned juvenile criminal defense attorney with expertise in this area can scrutinize the process of how the blood was examined and whether the equipment used to evaluate the results was functioning properly. There are many detailed processes involved in bodily specimen tests alone.
If this is your first OWI defense, you will most likely have a suspended driver’s license for up to 9 months and a fine for up to $300. While this penalty is the same as for an adult, a driver will be assigned more serious penalties if additional convictions occur.
If another DUI convictions happens within 10 years of the first conviction, fines start at $300 and can go up to $1000, including one year in prison, and a suspended driver’s license for at least one year or more. While this can have an immediate financial and social impact, that’s just the beginning.
There can also be many other defenses such as constitutional violations and defenses relating to a juvenile DUI charge, which an unpracticed individual will not be able to understand. Which is why these complicated DUI cases require someone who has the skill and knowledge in defending them.
If you or someone you know has been charged with juvenile DUI in Wisconsin, hiring the best juvenile OWI attorney in Wisconsin to defend your case is your best bet. Contact the attorneys at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today for a free consultation and to learn about payment plans.