Watch Fireworks Flash, Not Teenagers Crash

With the Fourth of July coming up, a holiday widely celebrated by sipping cold beer in the hot sun, underage drinking becomes a greater risk. In Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County,  Rice Lake or Barron County, Wisconsin, such celebrations create a drastic spike in DUI data.

When the driver is underage, the severity of a DUI charge dramatically increases. Financial burdens and legal trouble can be put onto the family when a driver under the legal drinking age is caught driving under the influence. 

Consulting a DUI lawyer specializing in such cases is the first and most important step to take when facing DUI charges, especially when underage. 

It is important to lay out a course of action for those charged. Remember, there is no warning first time DUI charges.

Dangers of driving while intoxicated are amplified when the driver is underage. Differing from an adult driver, consequences for a minor driving under the influence of alcohol can be much more severe. Any BAC reading above 0.00% is counted as a juvenile DUI crime while drivers who are over the age of 21 with a .08 BAC or below do not receive a DUI charge. Adding an additional impairment to a young driver, the dangers of a young driver operating a vehicle will be increased. 

For drivers under 21, drivers charged will hold DUI convictions even when they become of age if ANY illegal or impairing drug is inside the vehicle. This can include, but is not limited to marijuana, alcohol or even prescription medicine. DUI litigation in Wisconsin for underage drivers will fall under a zero-tolerance policy. 

A juvenile DUI charge can result in a suspended license for upwards of 280 days, which will be the same for an adult driver unless there are other charges added. 

Upon receiving a juvenile DUI charge in Wisconsin, increasing insurance costs will arise. It is entirely legal for your insurance company to drop one with a DUI charge without warning. This will create major hardships for future insurance plans. An underage DUI charge can result in increased premium costs or being dropped from your insurance policy entirely.

If an additional DUI charge ensues up to 10 years after the first charge, fines will begin at $300 and can be up to $1000, including at least a year in jail and a suspended driver’s license


Convictions of driving under the influence (DUI) are difficult to navigate, which makes it all the more pressing to hire an experienced DUI attorney for your case.

A DUI attorney obtains info on the specimen examination, including the location and time the testing occurred. An underage DUI charge will be taken into account by a DUI lawyer, which is typically easier for one with experience to navigate. Lawyers with experience defend and assess cases that are complex, such as juvenile DUI charges.

Lawyers that assess DUI cases, such as Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C., support you and your case taking situational details into account. In specimen testing, for example, the testers must follow a specific, detailed procedure that, if done incorrectly or illegally, could allow your charges to be dropped. Often, a DUI legal professional can take into account misreadings in the specimen testing for alcohol, marijuana, or even prescription medications.

Consult the attorneys at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. soon for a free consultation and to hear more about our payment plans. Hire an experienced juvenile DUI/OWI defense attorney in Wisconsin today to ease your legal concerns if you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI or OWI.

Related Posts



Facing OWI, DUI or DWI in Wisconsin

Facing charges related to OWI, DUI, or DWI in Wisconsin, particularly in local counties like Barron, Chippewa, Dunn, Eau Claire, or Rice Lake, can be a daunting experience. Whether it’s your first offense or you’re dealing with a more complex situation involving drugs, underage drinking, or high blood alcohol concentrations (BAC), the legal process can feel overwhelming. […]



Navigating the Maze: Wisconsin’s Strict Stance on DUI Offenses and Second Offense Implications

Wisconsin has gained a reputation for taking a stern stance on DUI offenses, and individuals facing a second offense find themselves navigating a complex legal landscape. In this blog, we’ll explore the implications of Wisconsin’s strict DUI laws, focusing on key areas such as penalties, legal processes, and the importance of seeking experienced DUI defense. Understanding Wisconsin’s[…]