The severity of juvenile OWI charge increases dramatically when the driver is underage. The family is put at a great risk for financial and legal implications when an underage driver is caught operating while intoxicated. Speaking with an experienced criminal defense attorney who specializes in juvenile DUI charges is the very first step to take when facing underage driving litigation. With celebrations like high school graduation and prom on the horizon, underage drinking becomes greater. In Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County, Rice Lake or Barron County, Wisconsin, milestone events typically spike rates of DUI charges, especially those under who are underage.
Keeping potential action to take against the litigation in mind is very important. For instance, there is no gentle reminder for those charged for the first time for a DUI offense.
The risk associated with safe driving is already heightened among juvenile drivers. When you add an additional impairment to the equation, it further increases the danger of a young driver operating a vehicle. Consequently, the consequences for an underage driver can and will be more severe compared to those faced by an adult driver. Any BAC reading above 0.00% is counted as a juvenile an OWI crime while drivers who are 21 and over with a .08 BAC or below do not receive a DUI charge consequently.
DUI laws in Wisconsin for drivers under 21 fall under a zero-tolerance policy. For underage drivers, those convicted will face DUI charges as an adult if ANY impairing, unlawful drug is found in the vehicle. These drugs can include marijuana, alcohol or even prescription medicine.
The result of an underage driver with a DUI charge can be a suspended license for 280 days, which an adult will face the same penalty unless convicted of other charges.
When a juvenile driver is charged with a DUI in Wisconsin, their car insurance bills can increase greatly. A juvenile driving under the influence charge can cause a raise in premium costs or result in being dropped from your insurance policy completely. It is legal for insurance companies to drop those convicted of a DUI without warning, which will create hardships in finding other insurance plans in the future.
If another DUI conviction takes place anywhere up to 10 years after the first charge, fines will begin at $300 and can be up to $1000, including a year in prison and a revoked driving permissions for at least a year. These charges will affect you monetarily and socially.
A DUI/OWI DEFENSE ATTORNEY SPECIALIZING IN JUVENILE CASES IS MANDATORY FOR SUCH CASES
Charges of driving under the influence are not that straight forward,, which creates an urgency to employ a DUI specialized lawyer for such cases.
An experienced criminal defense lawyer can get information on the specimen examination process, including when and where the blood was tested. An juvenile DUI charge can be considered by a DUI criminal defense attorney, which is easier for an experienced lawyer to identify. Experienced attorneys are required to assess and defend complex cases, such as an underage DUI charge.
DUI attorneys, like Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C., can provide support for your case by taking into account the situation to charge a driver with a DUI in Wisconsin. For example, in specimen testing, there are numerous procedures that need to be followed that could be grounds for dismissal of your charges. Frequently, a DUI lawyer can uncover misreadings in the tests for alcohol, marijuana, or even prescription medications.
Get in touch with the lawyers at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today for a free consultation and learn about payment plans. Hire an experienced underage DUI defense lawyer in Wisconsin today to take care of your case if you or someone you know has recently been charged with a DUI.