Sobering Facts About Juvenile DUI Crimes in Wisconsin

The laws are more severe than for adults
and require a skilled underage drinking defense attorney

The holiday break often sees an uptick in OWI / DUI criminal arrests in Wisconsin and it’s not uncommon that some of those drivers are under the legal drinking age. Unfortunately what many do not realize is that OWI operating under the influence or DUI driving under the influence punishments are more severe when the driver is under 21.

With so much at stake, it’s crucial that you contact a seasoned juvenile OWI lawyer if you or a younger family member is facing juvenile OWI charges in Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County,  Rice Lake or Barron County, Wisconsin

THERE’S NO SUCH THING AS A WRIST SLAP FOR A FIRST OFFENSE

A first time juvenile OWI offense for driving under the influence of alcohol is often met with a fine of a few hundred dollars plus a suspended driver’s license for up to 9 months. This penalty is the same as for an adult, however, more serious penalties will arise if additional convictions occur.

If another OWI conviction happens within 10 years of the first conviction, fines start at $300 and can go up to $1000, including a year in prison, and a suspended driver’s license for at least one year or more. While this can have an immediate financial and social impact, that’s just the beginning.

Newer drivers are already an at-risk group with regards to safe driving in general. Even with just one drink and the penalties for juvenile drunk driving are stricter than those for adults. The DWI law in Wisconsin for minors incorporates a zero tolerance policy for juvenile drunk drivers.

That means that any BAC reading above 0.00% is counted as a juvenile OWI crime and does not just stop at alcohol consumption. Under 21 drivers can be charged for the equivalent OWI crimes if they’re caught driving with any unlawful, impairing substance such as weed or prescription drugs in their body system. As a reference point, individuals who are 21 and over with a .08 BAC or below do not receive an OWI charge consequently.

Car insurance rates can skyrocket for juveniles convicted of OWI in Wisconsin – especially for individuals with more than one offense. A juvenile DUI conviction can lead to huge, long-term financial harm such as additional premium costs every month or, even worse, no insurance since the company may drop policies without warning or a chance to renew.

A DEFENSE LAWYER WHO SPECIALIZES IN JUVENILE OWI IS VITAL

Drunk driving charges or OWI/DUI (operating while intoxicated or driving under the influence) charges are very complex which is why it’s so vital that you hire a skilled defense lawyer who specializes in juvenile OWI and DUI cases.

For example, there are many detailed processes involved in bodily specimen tests. Often a DUI defense attorney will find mistakes or incorrect readings when it comes to proof of alcohol, marijuana or even prescription drugs that come with warnings about operating heavy machinery while taking.

A seasoned juvenile criminal defense attorney with expertise in this area can scrutinize the process of how the blood was examined and whether the equipment used to evaluate the results was functioning correctly.

There can also be many other defenses such as constitutional violations and defenses relating to a juvenile OWI charge, which an unpracticed individual will not be able to understand. All the more reason that these complicated DWI cases require someone who has the skill and knowledge in defending them.

If you or someone you know has been charged with juvenile OWI in Wisconsin, it’s crucial to hire the best juvenile OWI attorney in Wisconsin to defend your case. Contact the attorneys at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today for a free consultation.

Your Comment:

Related Posts