No such thing as a wrist-slap with juvenile drunk driving cases
A DUI for Minors is a Big Deal. Young drivers hold a considerable portion of OWI/DUI arrests made under the legal drinking age in Wisconsin, which are serious charges. Yet, most of them are unaware of how severe OWI operating under the influence or DUI driving under the influence punishments are when the driver is under 21. The first step, when a person under 21 is charged within Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County, Rice Lake, or Barron County, Wisconsin, is to contact an expert juvenile OWI lawyer as quickly as possible.
A FIRST OFFENSE DOES NOT MEAN A DRIVER IS EXCUSED FROM PUNISHMENT
In general, drivers with no or few experiences are under the risk group. he DWI law in Wisconsin for minors incorporates a zero-tolerance policy for juvenile drunk drivers. Just one drink can result in stricter consequences for juvenile drunk drivers.
It’s necessary to note that under 21 drivers can be charged for OWI crimes if they’re caught driving with any unlawful, impairing substances such as weed or prescription drugs in their body system. In comparison, individuals 21 and over with a .08 BAC or below do not consequently receive an OWI charge, but any BAC reading above 0.00% is counted as a juvenile OWI crime.
When juveniles are charged with OWI in Wisconsin, car insurance rates will significantly increase, especially for individuals with more than one offense. Receiving a juvenile DUI conviction can cause massive, long-term financial damage, such as paying an additional premium each month or, even worse, having no insurance coverage since the company may drop your policy without warning.
A DEFENSE LAWYER WHO SPECIALIZES IN JUVENILE DUI IS VITAL
OWI/DUI (operating while intoxicated or driving under the influence) charges can be confusing, so hiring a skilled defense lawyer specializing in juvenile OWI and DUI cases is necessary. For example, there are many detailed processes involved in physical specimen tests.
A DUI defense attorney may find faults like incorrect readings regarding evidence of alcohol, marijuana, or even prescription drugs that come with warnings about operating heavy machinery while taking. A seasoned juvenile criminal defense attorney who is an expert in this field can inspect the process of how the blood was examined and if the equipment used for evaluation of results was functioning correctly.
For first-time defense, you can expect a suspended driver’s license for up to 9 months and a fine for up to $300. While this penalty is the same as for an adult, a driver will be charged with severe penalties if additional convictions occur.
If another OWI conviction happens within ten years of the first conviction, fines start at $300 and can go up to $1000, including a year in prison and a suspended driver’s license for at least one year or more. While this can have an immediate financial and social impact, that’s just the beginning.
There can also be many other defenses, such as constitutional violations and reasons relating to a juvenile OWI charge, which an unpracticed individual will not be able to understand. This is why these complex DWI cases must be handled by an attorney with the expertise and skill in representing them.
If you or someone you know has been charged with juvenile OWI in Wisconsin, it’s crucial to hire the best young OWI attorney in Wisconsin to defend your case. Contact the attorneys at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today for a free consultation.