Get yourself an under age drinking defense lawyer right away!
Summer is a carefree (and often a careless) time where individuals enjoy themselves a little too much and then get behind the wheel. The uptick in DUI / OWI criminal arrests of young drivers in Wisconsin continues to be alarming. The worst part is that most are under the legal drinking age and what they don’t realize is that OWI driving under the influence punishments are much more severe when the driver is under the age of 21.
One unfortunate error in how the case is handled can destroy the future of this driver. This is why it’s urgent that you contact a skilled juvenile DUI defense lawyer if you or a younger family member is facing juvenile DUI charges in Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County, Rice Lake or Barron County, Wisconsin.
A first time DUI offense for a juvenile OWI can often lead to a fine that is hundreds of dollars not to mention a suspended driver’s license for up to 9 months. While this penalty is the same as for an adult, it is much more serious if additional convictions ever occur.
Let’s say an additional OWI conviction happens within 10 years of the 1st conviction, the fines could begin around $300 and could go as high as $1000 and land the driver 12 months in prison plus a suspended driver’s license for at least one year. The instant financial and social impact is just the start.
Younger drivers are already an at-risk group as viewed by insurance companies. Even if the driver has only one drink and the penalties for juvenile drunk driving are stricter than for adults 21 years of age. The DUI law in Wisconsin for minors incorporates a zero tolerance policy for juvenile drunk or drugged drivers.
Any BAC reading above 0.00% is counted as a juvenile DUI crime and does not end with alcohol consumption. Under 21 drivers can be charged for the equivalent DUI crimes if they are caught with any unlawful, impairing substance including prescription drugs or weed in their system. Just for reference, an individual who is 21 and over with a .08 BAC or below does not receive an OWI charge consequently.
Another problem for the driver is that car insurance rates will explode for juveniles convicted of OWI in Wisconsin – especially if the driver has more than one offense. A juvenile DUI conviction could lead to huge, long-term financial issues such as additional monthly premium costs or, even worse, a dropped policy without any warning or opportunity to renew.
Drunk driving charges or DUI/OWI (driving under the influence OR operating while intoxicated) charges are very complex which is why you must make it a priority to hire a skilled defense attorney who specializes in juvenile DUI and OWI charges.
The average person may not know that there are many detailed processes involved in bodily specimen tests. Many times a OWI criminal defense lawyer will find errors or incorrect readings when it comes to proof of alcohol, cannabis or even over the counter drugs that come with warnings about operating heavy machinery while taking.
A seasoned juvenile criminal defense lawyer with knowledge in this area can really scrutinize the process of how the blood was evaluated and whether the equipment used to examine the results was functioning correctly.
There could also be many other defenses such as constitutional violations and defenses relating to a juvenile DUI charge, which an unpracticed individual will not be able to comprehend. Just another reason that these complicated OWI cases require someone who has the skill and knowledge in defending them.
If you or someone you know has been charged with juvenile DUI in Wisconsin, it’s imperative that you hire the best juvenile DUI lawyer in Wisconsin to defend your case. Contact the attorneys at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today for a free consultation and to learn about payment plans.