What to do if you received an OWI under 21. Unfortunately, we see a rise in Wisconsin’s OWI criminal arrests of young drivers during this time of year. Many of these young drivers under the legal drinking age do not realize that (OWI) operating while intoxicated punishments are much more severe when the driver is under the age of 21.
One mistake in how the case is approached can be critical to the future of this driver and other drivers. That is why you must contact a skilled juvenile OWI defense attorney if you or a younger family member is facing juvenile OWI charges in Chippewa Falls, Chippewa County, Eau Claire, Eau Claire, County, Menomonie, Dunn County, Rice Lake, or Barron County, Wisconsin.
FIRST-TIME OFFENDERS DO NOT GET A PASS
A 1st time DWI offense for a juvenile driving under the influence of alcohol often results in a fine of hundreds of dollars, as well as a suspended driver’s license for up to 9 months. While this penalty is the same as for an adult, it is more severe if additional convictions occur.
For example, suppose another OWI conviction happens within ten years of the 1st conviction. In that case, the fines can reach as high as 1000 dollars, plus 12 months in prison and a suspended driver’s license for at least one year. The immediate financial and social impact is just the beginning.
Younger drivers are categorized as an at-risk group with regards to safe driving in general. Even if the driver has only one drink, the penalties for juvenile drunk driving are stricter than for adults 21 years of age. The OWI law in Wisconsin for minors incorporates a zero-tolerance policy for juvenile drunk or drugged drivers.
A blood-alcohol-concentration level reading above 0.00% counts as a juvenile OWI crime but does not stop at just alcohol consumption. Drivers under 21 can be charged for the equivalent OWI crimes if they’re pulled over for driving with any unlawful, impairing substance, including prescription drugs or weed in their system. Just for reference, an individual who is 21 and over with under a .08 BAC would not receive an OWI charge.
Juveniles convicted of DUI in Wisconsin also have to deal with the financial fallback as their insurance rate will skyrocket – especially if the individual has more than one offense, this may lead to giant, long-term financial harm like additional premium costs every month or, worse, no insurance since the company may drop policies without any warning or the opportunity to renew.
Drunk driving charges or OWI (operating while intoxicated) charges are incredibly complex. This is why it’s so crucial that you hire a skilled defense lawyer who specializes in juvenile OWI and DUI cases.
There are many detailed processes involved in bodily specimen tests that the average individual may be unaware of. Often, a DUI criminal defense lawyer will find errors or incorrect readings regarding proof of alcohol, cannabis, or even over-the-counter drugs that come with warnings about operating heavy machinery while taking.
An experienced juvenile criminal defense lawyer with knowledge in this area can criticize the process of how the blood was assessed and whether the material used to examine the results was operating correctly.
Many other defenses can occur when you hire a professional. These errors could be constitutional violations and defenses relating to a juvenile OWI charge, which an inexperienced lawyer will not understand. This is just another reason that these complicated OWI cases require someone who has the skill and knowledge to defend them.
If you or someone you know has been charged with a juvenile OWI in Wisconsin, hiring the best juvenile OWI lawyer in Wisconsin would be best. Contact the attorneys at Mullen Schlough & Associates S.C. today for a free consultation and to learn about payment plans.